ARCH ON TOUR 22_BRATISLAVA

New highlights and icons of the 1960s

APRIL 14, 2018

Concept and moderation: Marion Kuzmany / ARCH ON TOUR in cooperation with H enrieta Moravčíková / Slovak Academy of Sciences,  Architecture faculty

Guided tours: Henrieta Moravčíková , Štefan Bekeš, Peter Moravčík, Pavol Paňák

 

The connection via the direct waterway between the city centers of Vienna and Bratislava alone makes a trip necessary! The day tour provides an update on the latest developments in Vienna's neighboring city - including the unconventional and clever transformation of a water tower into a renowned architecture studio -  and gives a renewed insight into the classic icons of the 1960s, such as the flawlessly preserved interiors of the "inverted pyramid" of the Slovak radio. A stroll through the old town with an exquisite lunch stop shows new trends in the city center and after a detour to what is probably the most exemplary architectural monument of post-war modernism  - Ferdinand Milučký's crematorium - at the end the curve closes again to the Danube and PMArchitekti's brand new residential buildings.

The entire tour is led and accompanied by the architectural historian Henrieta Moravčíková. As the author of the monograph on Friedrich Weinwurm, architect and representative of the most important protagonists of the Slovak avant-garde, she is curator of the current exhibition "Architect Friedrich Weinwurm (1885-1942): New Path" in the Slovak National Gallery and will be shown exclusively through the Lead exhibition.

 

PROGRAM  As of April 9th, 2018, subject to change

 

Saturday April 14, 2018

Meeting point at Schwedenplatz ship pier, Vienna (before boarding the Twin City Liner)

Vienna-Bratislava / boat trip with the Twin City Liner

New Bridge (Most SNP) / Jozef Lacko, Ladislav Kušnír, Ivan Slameň, 1968 - 1973 (viewing terrace)        Slovak National Gallery / Exhibition: "Architect Friedrich Weinwurm (1885-1942): New Path", curator: Henrieta Moravčíková (exhibition tour)

Walk through the old town

Lunch at the Savage Garden restaurant

Slovak Radio (Pyramid) / Štefan SvetkoŠtefan Ďurkovič , Barnabáš Kissling , 1967- 1983 (interior tour with a guide by Štefan Bekeš)

bus

Architectural studio in the water tower / Pavol Paňák, Martin Kusý (interior visit with architect Pavol Paňák)

Crematorium / Ferdinand Milučký , 1968

Condominium Devín / PMArchitekti 2016 (interior visit with architect Peter Moravčík)

Walk on the Danube

Return to Vienna, arrival in Vienna, Secession

 

 

Photos:  Archive ARCH ON TOUR

ARCH ON TOUR 22_BRATISLAVA

Neue Highlights und Ikonen der 1960er

14. APRIL 2018

Konzept und Moderation: Marion Kuzmany / ARCH ON TOUR in Kooperation mit Henrieta Moravčíková / Slowakische Akademie der Wissenschaften,  Architekturfakultät

Führungen: Henrieta Moravčíková, Štefan Bekeš, Peter Moravčík, Pavol Paňák

 

Schon alleine die Verbindung über den direkten Wasserweg zwischen den Stadtkernen von Wien und Bratislava tut eine Reise not! Die Tagestour verschafft ein update zu den neuesten Entwicklungen in Wiens Nachbarstadt - darunter die unkonventionell sowie geschickte Transformation eines Wasserturms in ein renommiertes Architekturatelier -  und verleiht erneuten Einblick in die klassischen Ikonen der 1960er, wie etwa die lupenrein erhaltenen Innenräume der "verkehrten Pyramide" des slowakischen Rundfunks. Ein Altstadtspaziergang mit exquisitem Mittagsstop zeigt neue Tendenzen in der Innenstadt und nach einem Abstecher zu dem wohl beispielhaftesten Baudenkmal der Nachkriegsmoderne  - Ferdinand Milučkýs Krematorium - schließt sich der Bogen zum Abschluss wieder zur Donau und PMArchitektis brandneuen Wohnbauten.

Die gesamte Tour wird von der Architekturhistorikerin Henrieta Moravčíková geführt und begleitet. Als Autorin der Monographie über Friedrich Weinwurm, Architekt und Vertreter der wichtigsten Protagonisten der slowakischen Avantgarde, ist sie Kuratorin der aktuellen Ausstellung "Architect Friedrich Weinwurm (1885-1942): New Path" in der Slowakischen Nationalgalerie und wird im Rahmen der Tour exklusiv durch die Ausstellung führen.

 

PROGRAMM  Stand 09.04.2018, Änderungen vorbehalten

 

Samstag, 14. April 2018

Treffpunkt Schiffsanlegestelle Schwedenplatz, Wien (vor dem Einstieg zum Twin City Liner)

Wien- Bratislava / Schiffsfahrt mit dem Twin City Liner

Neue Brücke (Most SNP) / Jozef Lacko, Ladislav Kušnír, Ivan Slameň, 1968 – 1973 (Aussichtsterrasse)            Slowakische Nationalgalerie / Ausstellung: "Architect Friedrich Weinwurm (1885-1942): New Path", Kuratorin: Henrieta Moravčíková (Ausstellungsführung)

Spaziergang durch die Altstadt

Mittagessen im Restaurant Savage Garden

Slowakischer Rundfunk (Pyramide) / Štefan SvetkoŠtefan Ďurkovič, Barnabáš Kissling, 1967- 1983 (Innenbesichtigung mit Führung von Štefan Bekeš)

Bus

Architekturatelier im Wasserturm / Pavol Paňák, Martin Kusý (Innenbesichtigung mit Architekt Pavol Paňák)

Krematorium / Ferdinand Milučký, 1968

Condominium Devín / PMArchitekti 2016 (Innenbesichtigung mit Architekt Peter Moravčík)

Spaziergang an der Donau

Rückfahrt nach Wien, Ankunft in Wien, Secession

 

 

Fotos: Archiv ARCH ON TOUR